Stories about Marielyst
Walk in Marielyst
Make a historic walk through Marielyst and end
the walk along the best beach in Denmark
MARIELYST SOUVENIR 2012
Fotobog på 84 sider med fotografiske pletskud året rundt i Marielyst.
Fotobuch mit 84 Seiten mit fotografischen Schüssen das ganze Jahr in Marielyst.
Pris kr. 100,- Preis Euro 20 einschl. Versand.
About 1940 Marielyst was turned into a summer cottage area with 5-600 summer cottages, which primarily were placed between the beach and Bøtøvej/Storkevej. Parallel with the private building of summer cottages a number of idealistic persons and organizations had taken the initiative to different kinds of collective summer cottages. Thus Henrik Malberg took the initiative in 1937 to establish the convalescent home Dansk Skuespillerforbunds Rekreationshjem, and he gave a bigger piece of land, where the union in 1938-39 built five summer cottages and a common day room, called “Pejsestuen” (architect: Ivar Bentsen). On a later bought piece of land the convalescent home of the union called “Thalia” was opened in 1944 (architect: Ivar Bentsen/P. Maibomm Hansen). The five original summer cottages were in 1988-89 replaced by four newly built houses. The early increase of summer cottages took place when Stouby Klit was divided. Dansk Skuespillerforbund did also establish a sanctuary – with summer cottages and convalescent home – at the end of the 1930-ties on the author Henrik Malmbergs initiative. He had already in 1912 bought a small farm worker house called “Sindshvile”, which he renamed “Storkereden”, which later on has given its name to the road Storkevej.
Marielyst on South Falster
which lies directly at 20 km wonderful white sand beach at the Baltic Sea on the East coast of Falster at Bøtø Strand has for many years been a popular holiday resort and bathing place. Marielyst has everything which can be wanted of a holiday resort.
The development in Marielyst
Tells the story about how a piece of nature
- which was considered worthless, was turned into an attractive holiday resort. It all started when a large farmer in 1904 bought two bankrupted farms, “Marielyst” and “Nørrevang”.
The senior high school in Marielyst
At the end of the 19th century farmer Hans Jørgensen lived here. He had named the farm “Marielyst” after his wife Marie. In May 1906 a limited company with the lawyer Frederik Graae as primus motor was established. The purpose of the company was to rebuild the farm Marielyst into a summer boarding house for the better citizens. With an effective marketing towards the capital and Northern Germany the project became a big success. Guests from Denmark and foreign countries flocked to the new holiday resort. Graae is today reminded with the bust which is standing in front of the senior high school. The farm, which is the core of the senior high school, has passed its name on to the whole area.
Marielyst Feriecenter was established by Dansk Folkeferie as a consequence of the introduction of the holiday law in 1938 with the purpose of giving the workers an opportunity to have cheap holidays in rural surroundings. The first houses in the center were built as an occupational project at the end of the 1930-ties, where there was high unemployment, from which Marielyst profited. The big unemployment in the 1930-ties was also reason for the building of the Storstrøms Bridge, which also had meaning for the building of Marielyst, as the tourists now quickly and easily could come to the area over the bridge.
Strandkirken (The beach church)
Was built in 1959 As summer holiday church close to the original buildings in Bøtø, there is no cemetery in connection with the church. The close location of the church at the water and the special location in the middle of a summer cottage area are unique.
It would strengthen the experience of the church if there was established visual contact to the dike and the sea.